Rules of Procedure for the OASIS Emergency Management Member Section

  1. The name of the Member Section

    OASIS Emergency Interoperability (EI) Member Section

  2. The Member Section statement of work

    The mission of the OASIS Emergency Interoperability Member Section is to accelerate the development, adoption, application, and implementation of emergency interoperability and communications standards and related work. The EI Member Section endeavors to represent and serve the needs of all constituents in the marketplace ranging from practitioners to technology providers and national, international and multinational oversight agencies.

    The planned work of the EI Member Section is to conduct demonstrations of interoperability, support the process of delivering draft specifications to the EM TC, coordinate the work of affiliated Technical Committees, and provide the governance structure to accept and manage funds to serve the work of the EI Member Section. The EI Member Section intends to drive development and adoption of Emergency Communications Standards through the full Standards life-cycle from requirements capture to Standard creation and adoption services, in alignment with market needs. As the Standards in this area mature, this Member Section is committed to support needs that may evolve, including, developing interoperability testing guidelines for self-testing or certification and supporting such testing as the need arises. This is in response to the clearly expressed need by the wide variety of emergency response agencies and organizations to be able to share information across professional and jurisdictional lines, whatever specific application they may have in their office.

  3. The rules for electing new Steering Committee Members

    Within one year from creation of the EI Member Section, and each year thereafter, the Steering Committee will vote to select the number of seats available for election—for the purpose of replacing any expiring At-Large seats and modifying the Steering Committee composition to serve existing member needs. At-Large seats are filled by election for 2 year termsEach Affiliated TC must elect a representative to serve on the EI Member Section Steering Committee. All Steering Committee members must be Members of the EI Member Section.

    In addition to the process afforded by Section 5.5 of the Member Section Policy the number of members of the Steering Committee may be adjusted annually by the Member Section Steering Committee.

  4. The initial makeup of the Member Section Steering Committee

    The OASIS EI Member Section Steering Committee will initially include the members of the Board of Directors of the Emergency Interoperability Consortium (EIC) as "At-Large" members, with seat terms of 2 years from initiation of the Member Section. Additionally, one representative selected from each TC affiliated with the EI Member Section will have a seat on the Committee.

  5. The funding model (if any) for the Member Section

    At the discretion of the OASIS Board, up to forty percent (40%) of dues from members who choose to be a Supporting Entity of the EI Member Sections will be distributed to the EI Member Section discretionary fund or allocated proportionally to any other member sections so designated by the same Supporting Entity. The dues allocated to the EI discretionary fund will be managed by the OASIS EI Member Section Steering Committee and will be used to fund OASIS EI Member Section specific activities. In addition to the allocation of membership dues, the OASIS EI Member Section may receive funds directly from sources other than membership dues as described in the Member Section Policy.

  6. Any provisions that apply to affiliated OASIS Technical Committees
    • The Affiliated TCs may choose in their TC Charter to operate under any of the IPR modes allowed by the OASIS TC Process policy.
    • The Affiliated TCs may choose in their TC Charter to operate using any language of choice.
  7. Any other provisions


This version approved by the OASIS Board of Directors 2012-11-15

emergency-rop-2012-nov-15.pdf141.26 KB